MTNA Professional Certification

Lisa Cattanach, NCTM, Chair, lcatt@me.com

The MTNA Professional Certification Program exists to improve the level of professionalism within the field of music teaching. It benefits the members of the profession itself, as well as the public who interact with the professional. For the music teaching professional, certification provides prestige, recognition and the potential for student recruitment and increased earning power. For the public, certification helps readily identify competent music teachers in their communities.

The program is based upon a set of five standards defining what a competent music teacher should know and be able to do. Upon fulfillment of these standards, applicants are granted the MTNA Professional Certification credential with the designation, Nationally Certified Teacher of Music (NCTM). All music teachers actively engaged in the profession are eligible for MTNA Professional Certification.

National certification will set you apart as a teacher of high professional standards.

To learn more about the process to become certified and to download a certification packet, please visit: http://www.mtnacertification.org/

Teachers who are interested in pursuing certification will be encouraged to work in small groups led by the certification chair, Lisa Cattanach, NCTM. Teachers can contact the chair directly.

Nationally Certified Teachers of KCMTA:

Mara Bretton Balke
Joyce Berg
Lisa Harton Cattanach
Mary Bronaugh Davis
Julie Dean
Dr. Nata Dolnik
Marles Smith Dudley
Melissa Falkner
Linda Featherston
Dr. Janet Fetterman
Jennifer Fink
Michelle Gehring
Jacqueline E. Gilpin
Elizabeth Mueller Grace
Elizabeth M. Halverhout
Roxie Hammill
Janet Jamison
Kathy Judd
Linda R. Kennedy
Jessica L. Koebbe
Dr. Kairy Koshoeva
Myra Lemons
Karen McClellan
Dr. Calvin C. Permenter
Dr. Mark Pretzel
Tatyana M. Rubchinsky
Hemdah Salonimer-Horner
Julia Scherer
Virginia C. Schilb
Brenda Simmons
Betty Todd Smith
Dr. Scott McBride Smith
Dr. Jane Solose
Diane Stolz
Melody Stroth
Lisa K. Studtmann
Patricia Moll Thompson
Julie A. Watson
Pei-In T. Yang
Ying-Yu Emily Yeh